Skip to content

Living intentionally: Why I like cooking and clotheslines

April 27, 2014

If I could choose one word to describe myself, I’d choose the word intentional. I put a lot of thought into most everything I do and weigh the pros and cons of every decision I make, no matter how small.

As an example of just how small a decision gets weighed, I regularly take the ever-so-slightly longer route to work because it involves fewer sharp turns and stop signs, which requires less deceleration and acceleration and thus less wear on my truck. Yes, I am anal and clearly a Type A personality, but as you’ll read below, this has its benefits.

You might think considering the impact of every single decision in a day would be tedious and burdensome, and I suppose to an extent it is, but it is also the aspect of my personality that enables me to reap so much joy from such simple things as cooking and clotheslines. I’m not always in the mood to cook, and it’d be REALLY nice if I could afford to hire someone to make healthy, home-cooked meals for me and Libby every day (Beau’s fine with microwaveable versions), but once I get started on a meal and realize the connection to the earth, to the Creator, and to my body and health that it brings, I feel so satisfied—not simply satiated but truly satisfied in the deepest sense of the word.

I feel the same way whenever I hang a load of laundry on the clothesline to dry on a warm, sunny day. Sure, it would be easier and quicker to transfer the load to the dryer and be done with it, but it would also consume more non-renewable energy and prevent me from slowing down for a few extra minutes to soak in some sunshine myself. Honestly, hanging clothes out to dry is one of the most enjoyable things I do as a stay-at-home mom. It makes me feel connected to an oft-forgotten past when women had no choice but to use a clothesline, which in turn helps me to appreciate the conveniences that I do take advantage of (such as indoor plumbing!).

I’m a thinker, I suppose. I think about everything around me as I go throughout my day, and everything that might not be around me if I lived in a different place or time. How lucky am I, for example, to be able to turn on a faucet in my kitchen for fresh water whenever I need it rather than have to fetch it from an outdoor spigot, or worse, a stream or watering hole a quarter mile away? Cooking and cleaning up kids’ messes would be so much harder without clean water handy!

I like the fact that my intentionality makes me consider the impact of everything I do in life. I welcome the accountability it holds me to to be a responsible denizen of this earth and to not take anything for granted. Far from being burdensome, it brings me great gratitude and a glass-half-full perspective that I would never trade for ignorance of my impact as a modern human being. They say ignorance is bliss, but I believe living intentionally brings something even better: a connection to the earth and to others that every human being yearns for.

One Comment
  1. ksaackeblunk permalink

    well said CTH! you’ve identified your gift beautifully – as well as how the world mirrors your gift back to you.

Leave a Reply

