Skip to content

Gracias, obrigada… thank you

August 11, 2009

I need to pause and give thanks for the blessings I’ve benefited from over the past six months.  Health.  Safety.  A great job.  An adorable dog.  A horse of my own.  Personal transportation.  Awesome friends.  A loving family.  Peace of mind.  And time to enjoy all of these things. 

I am especially thankful for the time I’ve had to visit with old friends and family this summer.  Being able to stay in touch with people from my past is a wonderful blessing that keeps my life feeling whole, for there is no severance between past years and the present.  I have no “former” life, but a single life in which I continue to learn and to grow into the person I am continually becoming. 

I am also thankful for the moments I am able to relive when I visit people and places that were at one point part of my daily life, moments that refresh old memories and keep me feeling like a kid.  Like walking through cornfields at dusk, watching the fireflies glitter like stardust among the stalks.  Roaming campus after dark, breathing in the warm dampness of central PA summer nights.  Eating meals at Perkin’s and Webster’s and Otto’s in State College and at Picanha Grill and La Veracuzana in Philly.  Chatting for hours on end with girlfriends about boys and jobs and justice.  Licking ice cream from the cone before it melts.  Making funny faces with my grandfather.  Laughing ’til it hurts.

Life has felt so full and rich recently.  Thank you to all of my friends and family across the West and the East who have been a part of it.  I am thankful for every moment.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

