Skip to content

Removing nails

June 15, 2009

The title of this entry could have a really deep meaning about clearing out the thorns in my past… but it doesn’t.  It has a much simpler, literal meaning.

This afternoon a two-hour rain storm spoiled my plans to work with my colt.  When I returned to the house after giving up hope that the rain would pass quickly, I thought I might bake bread to pass the time away.  But as I stepped onto my front porch out of the rain, I thought it sounded so nice on the porch roof that I pulled a chair out and began pulling nails from a pile of old wood I plan to use to assemble a compost bin.  I sat for almost an hour happily preparing the 2x4s for reuse, glad at the sound of the rain and the ability to do something productive with my hands as I relaxed. 

Spoiled plans?  Nah – redirection.  It’s been a key of mine for finding joy in every day and in achieving this peace I feel inside me.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

