Skip to content

Land lines and dirt roads

March 24, 2009

I kind of like that cell phones don’t work on the reservation.  I haven’t had a land line for years, and it’s fun to have one again.  I like that I have no idea who will be on the other end of the line when I pick up the phone – it’s a little surprise every time without a cell phone screen announcing the number before I pick it up.  And since I’m living on my own, it doesn’t matter if the person who’s calling isn’t exactly the person I was hoping it would be – I’m just happy to know someone was thinking about me and decided to call.

I also love that I get to drive on dirt roads and driveways almost every time I go somewhere.  My car is caked in red clay and mud, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.  It give me a refreshing, free feeling – free from modernity, free from perfection. 

After living out in the country for almost a year now, I don’t think I’ll ever be able to go back to city life.  I wouldn’t feel the exuberance I feel every morning when I awake to the sun rising over the hills, or the thrill of driving along wide open roads, or the awesomeness of a star-studded sky.  Cities will always be fun places to visit, but I’m definitely a country girl at heart.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

