Skip to content

Redneck Woman

March 6, 2009

I’m a big fan of Gretchen Wilson’s song “Redneck Woman,” even though I’m not really a redneck, although I did grow up in Central Pennsylvania, a very redneck place if you take away Penn State University.

Here are the lyrics to the song:

Well I ain’t never
Been the barbie doll type
No I can’t swig that sweet champagne
I’d rather drink beer all night
In a tavern or in a honky tonk
Or on a 4 wheel drive tailgate
I’ve got posters on my wall of Skynard, Kid and Strait
Some people look down on me
But I don’t give a rip
I’ll stand barefooted in my own front yard with a baby on my hip

Cause I’m a redneck woman
And I ain’t no high class broad
I’m just a product of my raisin’
And I say “hey y’all” and “Yee Haw”
And I keep my Christmas lights on, on my front porch all year long
And I know all the words to every Charlie Daniels song
So here’s to all my sisters out there keepin’ it country
Let me get a big “Hell Yeah” from the redneck girls like me
Hell Yeah
Hell Yeah

Victoria’s Secret
Well their stuff’s real nice
Oh but I can buy the same damn thing on a Wal*Mart shelf half price
And still look sexy
Just as sexy
As those models on TV
No I don’t need no designer tag to make my man want me
You might think I’m trashy
A little too hard core
But get in my neck of the woods
I’m just the girl next door

Hey I’m redneck woman
And I ain’t no high class broad
I’m just a product of my raisin’
And I say “hey y’all” and “Yee Haw”
And I keep my Christmas lights on, on my front porch all year long
And I know all the words to every Tanya Tucker song
So here’s to all my sisters out there keeping it country
Let me get a big “Hell Yeah” from the redneck girls like me
Hell Yeah
Hell Yeah

I Said Hell Yeah

So I don’t say “hey y’all” and “yee-haw” unless I’m joking, and I don’t have a baby to put on my hip, but I do keep my Christmas lights on all year long and look just as sexy in TJMaxx jeans and underwear as a model would in Calvin Klein and Victoria’s Secret.  And I am definitely not the barbie doll type; I’d rather drink beer than champagne and I’d rather ride horses and get dirty than go shopping, hands down. 

I think my infatuation with this song has to do with my current feelings toward academia:  you can keep pretending life is good up there in that ivory tower, but just remember that life is being lived down here on the ground.  I am so much happier here on the ground, without my degree, than I ever was climbing those damn stairs. 

Maybe if I stay here on the ground long enough in Indian Country, I’ll eventually be a reZneck woman.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

