Skip to content

Wannabe

March 1, 2009

Some people on the reservation have asked me if I want to be Cheyenne.  No, I am not a wannabe American Indian, although I do appreciate many aspects of their beautiful culture(s). 

However, I have to admit that there’s a part of me that is a wannabe cowgirl.  To have horses be more than just a hobby and have ranching be an actual part of my everyday life would be amazing.  And I’m not talking about the romanticized version of cowgirls and cowboys:  riding off into the sunset while the credits roll on a Western film.  That’s nice, but I’d want it all:  the grunt work, the exhaustion, the cold nasty days when there’s no curling up inside to take a break from it all. 

I’ve never appreciated relaxing unless it comes after a hard days’ work – that’s why I’ve always volunteered my summers (and one time a semester) to help build houses.  I don’t want to come home from my day job and plop down on the couch to watch TV; I want to work.  That’s why I cook so damn much – it’s about the only productive physical activity besides hiking I can think of to keep myself busy and active. 

Alas, cowgirl I am not – although I did get to dance with some cute cowboys at a bar on Saturday night   My colleague Rowdy let’s me play a cowgirl sometimes on the weekends, letting me ride his horses and help out on his ranch.  I even got to help him and others herd some cattle one day.  The little tastes I get at his ranch are a secret thrill.

Yeah, I’m definitely a wannabe cowgirl.  If I stick around here, maybe some day I will be. 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Could you be a cowgirl somewhere in the East? I’d buy you yourvery own ranch if I could! Missing you, Love Your Mae 🙂

Leave a Reply

