Skip to content

íbó

February 27, 2009

“Ibó” means “I will” in Latin.  It’s a phrase I find people using too often in English.

A good friend of mine recently sent me a collection of quotes, most of which I agreed with wholeheartedly (such as the one in my next blog entry from the Dalai Lama).  But there was one with which I did not agree, and it is this one by John F. Kennedy:

Change is the law of life. And those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future.

I agree with the first part:  “Change is the law of life.”  But because I find the first part to be true, I find the second part to be a contradiction:  “And those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future.”  I would say that those who look only to the future not only end up missing the present, but also end up making plans that are likely never to come to fruition – because something will change in the meantime.  The economy.  Circumstance.  His job.  Her desires.  Their relationship.  Etcetera.

I can say “I will” and “I want to” until I’m blue in the face, but it won’t change where or who I am now.  I need to focus on “I am doing” and “I am building” and “I am creating” – phrases filled with action that is purposeful and meaningful in the here and now regardless of whether I make it to the future.  I hope that what I am doing and building and creating will lead to a better future, but it also needs to have value in the present because I will always be in the present – by definition, we all will always be in the present.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

