Skip to content

Random acts of kindness

November 26, 2008

Today I opened the Learning Center for four and a half hours even though school was closed for the upcoming holiday.  I needed to get some work done, and I greatly enjoy being around the students at CDKC, so I announced yesterday that I’d open up the LC for students who wanted to get some extra schoolwork done before the end of the semester, which is fast approaching. 

To my pleasant surprise, nine students actually showed up and spent a good deal of the day working in the Center.  Two of them, a father and daughter who tutor and take classes at the college, even brought me a plate of sweets and a card signed by their whole family for Thanksgiving.  Their simple act of kindness made my day. 

This Thanksgiving, in addition to being thankful for my family and health, I am so very thankful for having found a place to work and live that leaves me feeling as warm and happy inside as I feel every day that I spend on the rez.

Haaho.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

