Skip to content

Wannabe

November 22, 2008

Someone told me this morning that I could be Cheyenne if I wanted to – that it’s not about skin color or race, but about attitude.

But I don’t want to be Cheyenne; that’s not why I’m here.  I’m not trying to “go native” or search for meaning and identity inside another culture.  For one thing, many people on the reservation don’t even follow traditional practices any more or hold on to traditional values.  The reservation is not an oasis of prophetic understanding of the meaning of life; much to the contrary, the meaning of life seems to be swallowed up by other troubles, obstacles, and interests. 

Don’t misunderstand – there are also many people who do hold on to traditional practices and values, which are beautiful.  I enjoy participating in cultural activities and events on the reservation and I draw a lot of meaning out of them.  But I’m not searching for something to shape me into another person; rather, I’m looking for a place where I can be the person I am, and so far, this seems to be a good place to do that.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Two revealing posts. Along with another entry that you wrote last week, it sounds as if you’refinding the conditions that center you, that bring you joy, fulfillment, and a certain sense of peace. I’m thankful for that, Cori Liz, because it seems as though your spirit is more restful. And while it doesn’t necessarily mean that you won’t move on from this beautiful place someday, you now have a better understanding of the basic elements that are necessary to nourish your soul if your destiny takes you elsewhere. Peace and blessings, cara minha filha.

Leave a Reply

