Skip to content

ENFJ

November 21, 2008

Extroverted.  Intuitive.  Feeling.  Judging.  Also known as, the “Idealist Teacher” type.

This is my personality type according to an online test I recently took at:

http://www.humanmetrics.com/cgi-win/JTypes1.htm

For as inconsistent as I may seem to be, moving every year, switching jobs, dropping jobs, taking on new ones, starting grad school, dropping out of grad school, I am an astonishingly consistent person.  I took this same personality test in high school as well as a year ago when a friend of mine forwarded it to me.  Each time, I was an ENFJ. 

And the type fits.  I am an idealist.  I’ve seen good things happen and I know how to make them happen again.  I love teaching.  And I seem to be good at it.  My students are making more progress in math than the school counselor has said he’s seen in years – not because of any phenomenal teaching tricks I have up my sleeve, but because I believe in my students and I let them know it. 

I wrote in my blog several months ago that I wander not because I’m lost but because I have yet to find a place that fits.  I know who I am and I know what I want, it’s just that every place I landed offered too much stuff and not enough substance. 

Now I think I’ve found a place with little stuff and a lot of substance.  For the first time in my life, I don’t spend my free time daydreaming about the next place I’ll go.  I daydream about how happy and content I will be here in these hills, about the impact this reservation and its people will have on me and the impact I can have on them. 

And the best part is that it’s not a daydream.  It’s my own ideal turned real.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

