Skip to content

I like it here

November 8, 2008

I left home when I was seventeen
I just grew tired of falling down
And I’m sure I was told
The allure of the road
Would be all I found

And all the answers that I started with
Turned out questions in the end
So years roll on by
And just like the sky
The road never ends

And the people who love me still ask me
When are you coming back to town
And I answer quite frankly
When they stop building roads
And all God needs is gravity to hold me down

(Gravity, Alison Krauss)

As I drive down these open Montana roads flanked by prairie grasses, sage, and pine-studded ridges, I know I’ve found a home for my soul.  Landscaped lawns and strip malls and other forms of human-enforced order and convenience are far from sight, and no one cares if there’s a run-down trailer sagging on its blocks behind the neighbor’s house.  There are bigger concerns to worry about and there is much bigger beauty to behold than the built form.

Here, frivolties and insignificant preoccupations are dwarfed by the land and the sky, which are grand enough to both humble and inspire.  Here, buffalo still roam and a culture confined to history books still persists despite all of the pressure on it to roll over and die. 

Here, people pull over to check on you when you have your flashers on at the side of the road.  People drive three hours to pick you up when your car breaks down away from home.  Here,  people offer more than they have to give because they know that in giving, they receive a greater wealth than money could ever buy.

Here, in southeastern Montana, I feel free to embrace the values of simple living I have for so long wanted to embrace.  I have walked through this desert for more than forty days and not once been tempted to look back.  Not once been tempted to buy a TV, install the dishwasher and microwave, or live closer to restaurants and theaters and grocery stores. 

 I like it here.  Here seems a good place to stop my wandering.  I’m only afraid that I might not know how to stop.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Why be afraid to leave? You’ve grown with each of your “moves.” I doubt you’ve finished growing, right? But then again, if you feel you have found your personal nirvana, then you don’t need to leave. If it’s truly where you belong, then you won’t “feel” the need to leave.

Leave a Reply

