Skip to content

Pumpkin pie

October 30, 2008

Barring a human hug, there’s no greater comfort than being enveloped by the smell of baked goods upon walking back inside a home after a brief stroll under a blanket of stars.  The delicious aroma of pumpkin pie permeates my house right now and entices me to cut a slice instead of holding out until tomorrow.  When it comes to sweets, I’m not too good at delayed gratification.

But wait I will, for an evening meal with some friends on Halloween night.  I know pumpkin pie is supposed to be for Thanksgiving, but it seems extra special to eat it on a different holiday – like getting a gift when it’s not my birthday or Christmas.  A gift to me, to keep me company until I can feel the warmth of a human embrace again.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

