Skip to content

Winter wonderland

October 11, 2008

I feel safe tonight.  And peaceful.  The first snowfall has covered the ground in southeastern Montana, and large, wet, sticky snowflakes continue to fall from the night sky.  There’s something about a change in weather that makes doing the same old thing – sitting at home on the computer with James Taylor and a glass of tea – seem new.  I’m looking forward to going to bed tonight and waking up in the morning to see how much snow has gathered while I slept.  I feel like a little kid when I get up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and tiptoe over to the window to check on the accumulation, as if there were hope for a “snow day” tomorrow.

But tomorrow’s Saturday and I’m looking forward to an afternoon with the Spang family.  Lia, the girl I home school, has planned “Lia’s Fun Fair” to entertain us after a wintry horseback ride; she even wrote invitations, one of which she handed to me today when I went to her house to tutor her.  She loves projects like this.  I need to figure out how to better tap into that energy with her math – she doesn’t like math even though she’s very good at it, so I’ve been trying to figure out how to make it more fun.  No matter what I try, she knows it’s “math” so it automatically has a bad taste. 

I’m not giving up, though.  She’ll see the fun in math yet!…

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

