Skip to content

Wide Open Spaces

September 16, 2008

“She needed wide open spaces, room to make her big mistakes.”  (Dixie Chicks)

Only the decision to come to Montana wasn’t a mistake.  I’m having the time of my life out here.  Montana is an awe-inspiring state with breathtaking scenery, beautiful people, and constant reminders that there’s something much greater to life than our individual stories.  It’s a state big enough for my dreams to thrive. 

Several friends have expressed concern that I’ll be lonely out here, but there’s little chance of feeling solitary in a place like this.  Much to the contrary, I feel a constant sense of solidarity both with my new students and colleagues as well as with nature.  It’s impossible to feel lonely hiking or driving through Montana’s countryside because I am completely filled with a sensation that I am part of something big, huge, extraordinary – part of a spirit whose force and presence is drawn from millenia of geologic and human interactions that continue to sustain it in the present day. 

I feel a oneness with life out here, as if I’m living and breathing the meaning of life every day.  I am investing myself fully in my work, my community, my environment, and in my own physical and spiritual health.  My days are filled with enthusiasm and gratitude for the opportunity I’ve been given to be a part of something big – to be a part of carrying forward faith, hope, and love.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. What a spectacular and inspiring way to begin my day.  Reading your words this morning brings a huge smile to my soul.  Continue to be well.
    Peace,
    Kristian

Leave a Reply

