Skip to content

Giving

June 23, 2008

A very successful Northern Cheyenne woman, Clara – poet, barrel racer, Senator’s aid, assistant to the tribal president – joined us for dinner tonight at Chief Dull Knife College, where I’m working this summer.  She shared with us several beautiful poems, a line from one of which struck a chord with me:

“…the giving was the prayer.”

It reminds me of another favorite line of mine by Jewel, “We are that to which we pray.”

Jewel’s line means to me that if we truly want to make a difference in our lives and in the lives of others, we must seek to answer our own prayers through our actions and words. 

Clara’s line added a new shade of meaning to the actions I take and the words I speak (and write) on a daily basis.  The energy, effort, and attention I try my best to give to my work and to the people around me really is a prayer.  My action and words represent my desire and hope that this world can become ever better by people taking small, meaningful steps in positive directions.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

