Skip to content

Lateral drift revisited

April 16, 2008

A few weeks ago I wrote about feeling as if I were in “lateral drift”–just moving along, not knowing where I’m going or when I’ll get there.  For some strange reason, this seemed a bad state to be in–but this is the state that I’ve always been in!  And I’ve always been a happy person, a glass-half-full person who thrives in lateral drift. 

A classmate of mine is incredibly frustrated by our program–even more so than I am.  In trying to help him think about our current situation differently, I told him about my own approach to life, which I apparently lost track of over the past year.  I told him that I don’t have a specific goal in mind for my life, a specific job or place that I want to be, or a vision for how my life should look in 10 or 20 years.  Rather I have a philosophy that I follow day to day, and my goal is simply to continue to follow that philosophy.  My philosophy is to make the most of each day, of my surroundings, of the people in my classes and community, and to seek out the positive in every situation.  I’ve always been happy that way, with small exceptions here and there, and I know by following that philosophy, I will always be in a place where I am achieving what I want to achieve in life, which is to contribute.  There’s no waiting until I graduate, or until I get Job A or Job B–there’s here and now, the gift that we call the present.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

