Skip to content

A outra

December 29, 2007

Such a glorious morning I had, waking up to the sun streaming through my bedroom window, illuminating the book I had fallen asleep next to and that I picked up to read once again in the morning light–a book whose intuitive words in turn light my soul:

Um sujeito encontra um velho amigo–que vive tentando acertar na vida, sem resultado.  “Vou ter que dar uns trocados para ele”, pensa.  Acontece que, naquela noite, descobre que seu velho amigo esta rico, e veio pagar todas as dividas que havia contraido no decorrer dos anos.

Vao ate um bar que costumavam frequentar juntos, e ele paga a bebida de todos.  Quando lhe indagam a razao de tanto exito, responde que ate dias atras estava vivendo o Outro.

O que e o Outro? –perguntam.

–O Outro e aquele que me ensinaram a ser, mas que nao sou eu.  O Outro acredita que a obrigacao do homem e passar a vida inteira pensando em como juntar dinheiro para nao morrer de fome quando ficar velho.  Tanto pensa, e tanto faz planos, que so descorbre que esta vivo quando seus dias na Terra estao quase terminando.  Mas ai e tarde demais.

–E voce, quem e?

–Eu sou o que qualquer um de nos e, se escutar seu coracao.  Uma pessoa que se deslumbra diante do misterio da vida, que esta aberta aos milagres, que sente alegria e entusiasmo pelo que faz.  So que o Outro, com medo de decepcionar-se, nao me deixava agir.

–Mas existe sofrimento –dizem as pessoas no bar.

–Existem derrotas.  Mas ninguem escapa delas.  Por isso, e melhor perder alguns combates na luta por sues sonhos que ser derrotado sem sequer saber por que voce esta lutando.

–So isto?  –perguntam as pessoas no bar.

–Sim.  Quando descobri isto, acordei decidido a ser o que realmente sempre desejei.  O Outro ficou ali, no meu quarto, me olhando, mas nao o deixei mais entrar — embora tenha procurado me assustar algumas vezes, me alertando para os riscos de nao pensar no futuro.

A partir do momento em que expulsei o Outro da minha vida, a energia Divina operou seus milagres.

(Paulo Coelho, Na margem do rio piedra eu sentei e chorei)

Translation:

A guy comes across an old friend who is constantly trying to get his life back on track, but without success.  “I should give him some money,” he thinks to himself.  As it turns out, he finds out that his old friend is actually rich and had managed to pay back all of the debt he had acquired over the years.

They go to a bar that they used to go to together, and he pays for everyone’s drinks.  When they ask him the reason for his success, he responds that until recently, he had been living the life of the Other.

“What’s the Other?” they ask.

“The Other is the person I was taught to be but that I’m not.  The Other believes that a man’s job is to live his life saving money so that he doesn’t die of hunger when he’s older.  He thinks so much and makes so many plans that he only discovers he’s alive when his days are almost up–but by then it’s too late.”

“And which one are you?”

“I’m the person that we all are, when we listen to our hearts.  A person who is fascinated by the mistery of life, who believes in miracles, who is joyous and enthusiastic about what he does.  But the Other, who feared disappointment, wouldn’t let me follow my dreams.”

“But suffering is real,” the people in the bar say.

“And so is defeat–but no one escapes it.  So it’s better to lose some battles fighting for your dreams than to be defeated without ever knowing what you’re fighting for.”

“That’s it?” everyone asks.

“That’s it.  When I came to this realization, I woke up committed to being the person that I always wanted to be.  The Other sat there in my room watching me, but I wouldn’t let him back in, even though he’s tried to scare me a few times, warning me about the risks of not worrying about the future.

“And from that moment on, the divine energy began working its miracles.”

(Paulo Coelho, On the Banks of the River Piedra, I Sat Down and Cried)

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

