Skip to content

Simple pleasures

October 31, 2007

One of my favorite moments in the day is when I go to check the mail
every evening.  As autumn sets in, I love to bundle up for the
short walk to my mailbox, when I get to look up at the night sky,
breathe the crisp air, and hear the crunch of leaves under my
feet.  I thoroughly relish the two minutes it takes me to walk to
the mailbox and back; the stillness of the night calms me and centers
me.  No matter how busy, upset, or distressed I may be, stepping
out into the night always brings me a sense of peace–and when I’m
already elated, it puts an extra spring in my step that leads me to
skip at least part of the way. 

Perhaps it’s something about nature’s unwavering steadiness, which is
harder to perceive during the hustle and bustle of daytime. 
Whatever it is, it is an integral part of my well being.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

