Skip to content

My kind of politics

October 25, 2007

Politics makes me sick.  I’ve been completely ignoring the
“campaign trail” that started months ago for the “upcoming”
presidential elections, as if they were going to be this November
instead of over a year from now. 

Perhaps it sounds contradictory for an activist to be removing
herself from national politics, but I find it insulting for politicians
to be spending so much time and money on
trying to convince the American public of the best person to lead the
country post-Bush.  While some of them focus on real, important
issues facing our country (Dennis Kucinich and his long-time emphasis
on universal health care come to mind), most of them are simply
spending their money to make us agree with what they want for our country.

What’s also insulting is that most, if not all, of these candidates
have active political appointments that our tax dollars are paying them
to perform, but instead they’re traipsing around the country in big,
painted buses that release almost as much polluting hot air as they do.

It frustrates me that so many Americans seem to play right into
this.  I can’t count how many times somebody has asked me whom I
think I will vote for.  Vote for?  When?  Is there an
election next week?  Next month?

I do vote, however.  I vote every day with my time and my
dollars.  I’m not wealthy and thus my votes are small, but that
doesn’t make them insignificant.  Indeed, the most any of us can
do is to do what we can, but if we become jaded and don’t even do that,
we are throwing away our voice, throwing up our hands and admitting
defeat when defeat, although nigh, has not yet occurred. 

I don’t like Wal-Mart’s business practices, so I don’t shop there; same
goes for McDonalds.  If everyone who didn’t like Wal-Mart didn’t
shop there, Wal-Mart would have to close up shop in a lot of
places.  I support local businesses and locally grown food, so I
shop at Maple Food Farms instead of the Big Y, even though Maple Food
Farms is more expensive.  I go to local restaurants rather than
the TGI Friday’s’ and Applebees’ of the world.  I loan some of my
money to entrepreneurs in the developing world rather than entrusting
all of it to the bank.

In other words, I try to put my money where my mouth is; I don’t always
succeed–sometimes it’s easier to go to Wal-Mart when I’m busy rather
than divide my errands among a handful of local stores–but I do what I
can, and I’m always trying to do just a bit more.  I believe I can
make a difference, and I’m never going to let go of that belief–not in
the face of capitalism, neoliberalism, or any other obstacle that
someone tries to claim is too big to work around.  Working around
them is not the idea, anyway–we need to work through it.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Kristian permalink

    Thank you for continuing to honor by allowing me to read your writings.  You are open and it is a good way to get to know you better, feel your emotions, learn your struggles, passions, and thoughts.  I am continually amazed and impressed by your words and it really is a gift that you write and share like this.  You’re a good one Cori….keep fighting, keep breathing, and keep living. 
    I’m reading a book currently that you might be interested in at some point.  It’s called ‘Deep Economy’ and it deals with the economic growth and health of the individual (where we find ourselves mostly today) versus the economy of the community (which is in danger of being forced out of existence).  Some of the points you touched on in your reply to the friend who had sent you a letter earlier seemed to be reflecting the messages in this book.
    Hope this finds you well today.
    Peace,
    Kristian

Leave a Reply

