Skip to content

Melting pot or not?

February 28, 2007

As I drive home from Northeast Philadelphia three nights per week after
teaching English, listening to Brazilian music in my car, I often think
about how bizarre it is that I’m driving along an American river in an
American city but singing and thinking in a language other than
English, drumming my fingers to rhythms and beats from below the Tropic
of Capricorn. 

Tonight it finally struck me that this isn’t bizarre at all–nearly 20%
of Philadelphians sing, drive, think, and live to the beat of another
language.  Chances are that 1 out of 5 drivers passing me on the
Schuykill Expressway are also listening to music in a foreign language,
are thinking to themselves in a foreign language, and are wondering
about places far away from Philly. 

Lately I’m really beginning to feel like I fit into this city, and I like it. 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. hey there! I agree that you definitely weren’t the only driver doing that. It goes the same to alot of people here in Seattle. Brazil must be pretty awesome! Regarding your comment (and sorry for the late reply):It’s amazing how you also attended UW even only for a quarter. I really enjoyed my time there. We do have quite a few things in common. I am honestly wishing I was doing things concerned with immigration as I am an immigrant myself. It must be rewarding to be part of something with such a cause.

Leave a Reply

