Skip to content

Persistence

October 30, 2006

I am amazed at the life’s persistence to survive.  I planted a
handful of cilantro seeds in my indoor window box several months
ago.  I thought I had lost them this summer when Paul and I went
to Bolivia and our plant-sitter stopped watering them a week before we
returned, thinking we were only going for a week and not two.  The
remaining seeds surprised me by sprouting over a month later, growing
until their tiny leaves were peeking over the edge of the box; but then
a cold spell killed them before our heat turned on for the
winter. 

Now, two weeks after the last sprouts died, over a dozen small shoots
are popping up all over the box, the heater beside them having
incubated seeds I had thought were long lost, causing them to germinate
and sprout with vigor.  Provided the heat doesn’t shut off or a
plant-sitter doesn’t neglect our babies, I will finally have my own
home-grown batch of cilantro to enjoy throughout the winter.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

