Skip to content

January 10, 2006

Home for the Holidays

I don’t have anything much particular to report right now; I’m just in
the mood to write and I happen to have a few extra minutes before I
need to head to work.

Paul and I spent a very pleasant winter break in State College/Pine
Grove Mills with our families and friends.  I was reminded once
again of the simple joy I experience when spending time at home,
cooking and savoring meals with family, chatting with friends, and
receiving big bear hugs from FISH people at church.  My spirit was
warmed by evening walks through Pine Grove Mills, where I took pleasure
in the quiet calm of the silence and the darkness, which were
punctuated only by the sound of the stream tumbling off of Pine Grove
Mountain and the twinkling lights of the Christmas tree decorating the
cemetery on Main Street. 

Visits home always leave me with a twinge of homesickness when I return
back to Philly; but the homesickness is a good feeling because it
assures me that my family and friends maintain a prominent place in my
heart.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

