Skip to content

November 20, 2005

20 de novembro

Okay, so I’m not sure about the Brazilian Service Center job
anymore.  Celso hired me to help him get a Brazilian Association
up and running, but his ideas for the association aren’t entirely in
the community mobilizing, self-help direction I had originally
thought.  I’m going to give it a few more days and see how things
unfold; in the meantime, I’m still applying to appealing job postings I
find on Craig’s List.

Even if I don’t continue with the Brazilian Service Center, the past
few days of working for Celso have been interesting.  On Friday,
he took me for a drive around his nook of Northeast Philly to point out
the Brazilian shops and restaurants that speckle the
neighborhood.  As we toured the area, I thought to myself how
intriguing it was to be introduced to parts of Philadelphia by a
Brazilian who was sharing his knowledge with me in Portuguese.  I
felt as if I were back in Porto Alegre or Gramado, where Senhor and
Senhora Santos would expound upon the history of the surrounding city
and/or countryside as we drove to and from their home and some other
destination. 

Well, Paul and I are off to pick up my friend Sheila–who just ran the Philly Marathon!!–to get some brunch.  Ate mais…

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

