Skip to content

September 23, 2004

23/9/4 Quinta


Finally, the rain has cleared.  Last night I received notice that a package arrived for me at the post office, so this morning I took a bus downtown to pick it up–actually, I took two buses because the first time I went I forgot to bring my notification slip with me, so I had to go all the way back to the apartment then back to the correios again.  But it was worth the effort because it was so wonderful to receive presents from home.  My mom sent me a silver necklace with a lion’s paw on it–an early graduation present–along with a copy of Mother Jones magazine (a great independent news source for those of you sick of spoon-fed news), pictures from home, and a new scarf; my grandparents also sent a new scarf along with the package.  I have to admit that my eyes watered as I thumbed through the pictures of Tabi (our cat); of the moon rising over Jo Hayes Vista; of my brother and I; and of Paul and I the morning I left for Brazil.  Damn, and I was doing so well after my trip to Argentina, which totally took my mind off of my homesickness!  But thanks so much, Mom–I absolutely loved the care package and relished every item


Now I’d better get back to work.  I have all day on Thursdays until 6:30 without class, so it’s easy to inadvertantly end up spending hours online when I intend only to take small breaks here and there to check my email.  I hope you’re all doing well and thinking of me occasionally as you go throughout your days.  The Lord knows I always think of you.


Love,


~Cori

From → Brazil, Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

